Need help with Python script [unicode normalization]

Hi Nick,

Great app you’ve made, and I’ve been using it daily for about 6 months with the extensions available on your site. But after discovering that I can make my extensions recently, I was really excited.

I’m having trouble with my script output, can you please help me identify the issue? I have a felling popclip is having some trouble with unicode characters in this case (Telugu in this case).

So, I’ve developed a simple python script to transliterate text from Roman (IAST) form to Telugu, given here:

from aksharamukha import transliterate

# Define the fixed source and target languages
source_language = "IAST"
target_language = "Telugu"

# Get the user-chosen text to be transliterated
text_to_transliterate = "Kaliyugadalli - Jañjhūṭi"

transliterated_text = transliterate.process(source_language, target_language, text_to_transliterate)

print(transliterated_text, end='')

It’s output is కలియుగదల్లి - జంఝూటి, as expected.

Here’s my YAML-Python extension code, which I hacked into place based on the documentation and some examples from the forum:

#!/opt/homebrew/Caskroom/miniconda/base/bin/python3
# #popclip
# name: Akṣaramukha I2T
# icon: a2అ
# after: paste-result
import os

source_language = "IAST"

text_to_transliterate = os.environ['POPCLIP_TEXT']

# Do the transliteration
transliterated_text = transliterate.process(source_language, target_language, text_to_transliterate)

# Print the transliterated text

The output I get from this poclip extension is కలియుగదల్లి - జన్ంఝూత్̣ఇ.

So, looking at them side by side to see the difference:

Expected Received
కలియుగదల్లి - జంఝూటి కలియుగదల్లి - జన్ంఝూత్̣ఇ

Please let me know if I’ve gone wrong somewhere, thank you!

I’ve run your script, both with python3 directly and within PopClip, and I see a similar result to you.

I’m sure it must be something to do with encoding. but will need to dig in deeper to figure out what.

edit: posting for future reference

INPUT